Five Athletes Honored In Annual Student Athlete Awards

Five Athletes Honored In Annual Student Athlete Awards

Cleveland State has announced the winners of their 2019 Athletic Awards.

Delaino Walker was named the 2019 D.F. Adkisson Male Athlete of the Year. Walker was named the 2019 TCCAA Men's Basketball Tournament MVP and was also named to the TCCAA Men's Basketball All-Conference First Team. He led the Cougars in PPG and RPG with 15.9 and 7.2 respectively.

Auburn Collake was named the 2019 Hugh Walker Women's Athlete of the Year. She is currently batting .339 with 34 RBI, 6 HR, and 23 runs scored heading into the TCCAA Softball Tournament on Sunday. Her RBI mark is second on the team.

Baseball's Ethan Walls and Softball's Kaitlyn Pickens were named the Male & Female George Mathis Scholastic Award Winners. Both athletes posted high marks in the classroom and balanced their competition with their academics well, as this award goes to the male and female athlete with the highest overall GPA.

Softball and Women's Basketball's Kaitlin Crump has been named the 2019 L. Quentin Lane Sportsmanship Award winner. This award is given to the athlete with the best attitude, conduct, and spirit on the field.

Softball's Emily Yell also received the Social Sciences Award for her outstanding work within her field of study.

Congratulations to all of these Cougar students athletes for their amazing work on and off the court and field!

Individual Photos can be viewed here. 

Follow us on Twitter @CS_Athletics, on Instagram @clevelandstateathletics, or like us on Facebook for more news and scores from your Cleveland State Cougars!

Cigliano Hikes Rocky Top
April 29, 2019 Cigliano Hikes Rocky Top
Cleveland State Hires New SID
February 19, 2019 Cleveland State Hires New SID
Baseball 2018 Fall Classic
August 15, 2018 Baseball 2018 Fall Classic